Agenda Report

File #: 2023-2928, Version: 1

FROM: Robert Thompson, General Manager

SUBJECT:

SELECTION OF HONOR WALK BRICK RECIPIENTS AND EMPLOYEE DEDICATIONS

GENERAL MANAGER'S RECOMMENDATION

RECOMMENDATION:

- A. Approve nominated former employees Marc Dubois and Jack Ellis as Honor Walk brick recipients for the year 2023;
- B. Approve former Board Members Larry Crandall, and Jim Ferryman as Honor Walk brick recipients for the year 2023; and
- C. Approve Brian Bingman and Linda Losurdo for tunnel dedications.

BACKGROUND

The Steering Committee is being asked to consider and act on the nominations for the 2023 Honor Walk and for naming of utility tunnels at Plant No. 2.

RELEVANT STANDARDS

Maintain positive employer-employee relations

PROBLEM

If the nominees are not approved, we cannot move forward with the Honor Walk process nor the tunnel naming needed for identification purposes on Plant map updates.

PROPOSED SOLUTION

Consider the two recommended staff nominees from the five who were nominated as selected by the Staff Selection Committee. Select former Board members for inclusion in the Honor Walk Program from the list of nominees using the criteria listed below in Additional Information.

RAMIFICATIONS OF NOT TAKING ACTION

The Honor Walk Dedication ceremony will not take place, nor will the tunnels be named.

PRIOR COMMITTEE/BOARD ACTIONS

June 2008 - Board adopted Resolution No. OCSD 08-08 establishing a policy for naming facilities and placing of monuments and other memorials.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

In 2008, the Steering Committee adopted a Resolution that provided a framework for recognizing past Board members and former staff for their outstanding contributions. One of the results of this resolution and the discussions that followed was the creation of the Honor Walk in front of the Administration Building at Plant No. 1 in 2009 with the first honoree recognized in 2010.

Honorees can be past Board members or employees who made significant contributions to Orange County Sanitation District (OC San) and the people it serves.

The policy and procedures developed by the Steering Committee stipulate that the General Manager make a recommendation to the Steering Committee for approval of the retired staff nominees; and the Steering Committee will deliberate and decide on past Board members.

The criteria adopted by the Board of Directors for selecting an Honor Walk recipient:

- Have a long-standing affiliation with OC San.
- Enhanced the quality of operations and/or leadership directly contributing to the well-being of OC San and people served by OC San.

The naming of tunnels at both Plant Nos. 1 and 2 have been done over the years as a way to honor former employees for their contributions, while providing a name to identify the tunnels. OC San will be upgrading the Temperature-Phased Anaerobic Digestion (TPAD) Digester Facility at Plant No. 2, adding two new tunnels to the 18 we currently have.

PAST BOARD MEMBER NOMINEES

This year, former Board members Carolyn Cavecche, Larry Crandall, Jim Ferryman, and Greg Sebourn are nominated for the Honor Walk.

Attached are their nomination forms for consideration by the Steering Committee. Historically, up to two honorees are selected for each category in any one year.

RETIRED EMPLOYEE NOMINEES

Five employees were nominated for the Honor Walk this year. An employee committee consisting of five employees representing different divisions and various years of service reviewed the candidates.

Based on the review of the nominees, the employee committee recommended two out of the five employees to the EMT. Based on each employee's significant, unique, and outstanding contributions to OC San, the EMT unanimously accepted the following two recommendations.

The Employee Nominees:

Marc Dubois, former Purchasing Manager, 1996 - 2019 (23 years) Jack Ellis, former Collections Facilities Foreman, 1956-1979 (23 years)

The Honor Walk ceremony will be held on June 24, 2023 at 4:00 p.m.

Four employees were nominated for the TPAD tunnels, the two employees with the most nominations are:

Brian Bingman, former Engineering Supervisor, 24 years of service Linda Losurdo, former Administrative Assistant, 30 years of service

The tunnels will be known as the Bingman and Losurdo tunnels.

ATTACHMENT

The following attachment(s) may be viewed on-line at the OC San website (www.ocsan.gov) with the complete agenda package:

• Honor Walk Nomination Forms